Georgia's Own Credit Union Ratings & Reviews

Write Review
NMLS ID: 539379

Georgia's Own Credit Union

(4.4 of 5) 13 Reviews

85% of our customers would recommend this lender.

About Georgia's Own Credit Union

With 80 years of experience helping more than 170,000 people meet their financial needs, Georgia’s Own Credit Union prides itself on our commitment to the communities and businesses we serve.  As a not-for-profit financial institution, Georgia’s...

Read more

Loan Officers

View All
Tijuana Jennings Atlanta, GA
Mershon McNair Atlanta, GA
Daniel Iglesia Atlanta, GA
Nicolo Dewitt Atlanta, GA
Saba Ingleton ATLANTA, GA
Marilyn Merritt Buford, GA
View all

Customer Reviews

Write Review

13 Reviews

(4.4 of 5)
Review Breakdown
  • Lender Review
    from Sevierville, TN
    (5 of 5)
    Recommended!
    Reviewed:
    Loan Type:
    Auto Loan or Auto Refinance
    Services:
    Closed loan with this lender
    Date of Service:
    March 18, 2017
    Loan Closed On:
    May 10, 2017

    Good experience - smooth Transaction

    Good experience - smooth Transaction

    Was this review helpful?

  • Lender Review
    from Alpharetta, GA Confirmed LendingTree Customer
    (5 of 5)
    Recommended!
    Reviewed:
    Loan Type:
    Auto Loan or Auto Refinance
    Services:
    Closed loan with this lender
    Date of Service:
    February 28, 2018
    Loan Closed On:
    March 3, 2018

    Mershon McNair did an outstanding job for us!

    Mershon McNair went above and beyond to help us close our car loan quickly. We were searching for a specific car with specific options and when we found one out of state and negotiated the price, it was a Friday afternoon before I got started on the loan process. Due to some extenuating circumstances and our own very tight schedules, we really wanted to pick up the car on Monday morning - out of state. That left very little time to process the loan and I was frankly skeptical we could pull it off. The loan process involved people in three states to get everything signed. Mershon shepherded everything through seamlessly, even finishing things up Saturday morning on his day off so I could pick up the check at a nearby branch by lunchtime Saturday and be on the road to get the car out of state. From our first contact to check in hand was less than 24 hours and very much appreciated as it saved our schedules for the week and ensured that we got the exact car we wanted at a great price. I was so impressed with Mershon's professionalism and ability to get the job done in such a tight turnaround. And the rate was great - better than the dealer or other options we had. Thank you so much Mershon... Read More

    Was this review helpful?

  • Lender Review
    from Gainesville, GA Confirmed LendingTree Customer
    (1 of 5)
    Reviewed:
    Loan Type:
    Auto Loan or Auto Refinance
    Services:
    None - we connected, but I didn't move forward
    Date of Service:
    January 26, 2018

    Pulling Credit Score without permission

    This credit union pulled my score without permission from my side as well. Just absolutely unacceptable. I will never think of doing business with this credit union, nor will i tell anything good about it to anybody. Horrible, I`m really upset about that.

    Was this review helpful?

  • Lender Review
    from Cumming, GA
    (5 of 5)
    Recommended!
    Reviewed:
    Loan Type:
    Auto Loan or Auto Refinance
    Services:
    Closed loan with this lender

    5 Stars, excellent rates and service

    Excellent rates, and awesome service, surely recommend to friend and family.

    Was this review helpful?

  • Loan Officer Review
    from Cumming, GA
    (5 of 5)
    Recommended!
    Reviewed:
    Loan Type:
    Auto Loan or Auto Refinance
    Services:
    Closed loan with this loan officer

    Excellent experience, 5 Stars

    TiJuana was very helpful and prompt throughout the process, she made the Auto loan experience seamlessly easy for me. Rates were the best, I took quotes from multiple banks but they were the best. It just took me few hours to close everything. Thank you and will surely recommend GA Own Credit Union. Thank you Tijuana.

    Was this review helpful?

  • Lender Review
    from Atlanta, GA Confirmed LendingTree Customer
    (1 of 5)
    Reviewed:
    Loan Type:
    Auto Loan or Auto Refinance
    Services:
    None - we connected, but I didn't move forward
    Date of Service:
    October 7, 2017

    Hard Credit Score Pulls without Permission

    This company does a hard pull of your credit rating without your permission. Please, don't lower my credit score without me even filling out an application. Please!

    Was this review helpful?

  • Lender Review
    from Acworth, GA Confirmed LendingTree Customer
    (5 of 5)
    Recommended!
    Reviewed:
    Loan Type:
    Auto Loan or Auto Refinance
    Services:
    Closed loan with this lender
    Date of Service:
    September 1, 2017
    Loan Closed On:
    September 6, 2017

    Best rate and service

    Not only did this institution offer the best rate (I came across no dealership would could even meet it), but once I identified the vehicle I wanted to purchase, I had a check in my hand in less than 48 hours.

    Was this review helpful?

  • Loan Officer Review
    from Atlanta, GA
    (5 of 5)
    Recommended!
    Reviewed:
    Loan Type:
    Auto Loan or Auto Refinance
    Services:
    Closed loan with this loan officer

    Helpful, efficient, responsive!

    TiJuana was very helpful, very responsive to emails and phone calls, helped navigate the process quickly and efficiently. Overall the whole loan process was about as smooth and as fast as you could expect. Would definitely use Georgia's Own again.

    Was this review helpful?

  • Loan Officer Review
    from Smyrna, GA
    (5 of 5)
    Recommended!
    Reviewed:
    Loan Type:
    Auto Loan or Auto Refinance
    Services:
    Closed loan with this loan officer

    auto refinance

    Very Professional and easy to work with

    Was this review helpful?

  • Lender Review
    from Loganville, GA
    (5 of 5)
    Recommended!
    Reviewed:
    Loan Type:
    Refinance
    Services:
    None - we connected, but I didn't move forward

    Great place to do business

    Very nice people!

    Was this review helpful?

With 80 years of experience helping more than 170,000 people meet their financial needs, Georgia’s Own Credit Union prides itself on our commitment to the communities and businesses we serve.  As a not-for-profit financial institution, Georgia’s Own has no stock holders to pay. Rather, earnings are returned in the form of lower rates on loans, higher interest paid on savings, more free services and financial education programs.   We are a full service financial institution for all your lending and savings needs, have convenient in-person and online access options and give access to more than 80,000 surcharge-free ATMs nationwide.