NMLS# 453156

4.4 of 5stars4062 Reviews

Capital One Auto Finance

  • Recommended Lender
    Recommended 62%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

 Capital One Auto Finance offers financing for new and used vehicle purchases. Auto Navigator®  is a cutting-edge car-shopping tool created to give you an end-to-end experience, making it easier to find and finance your next vehicle. 
Lender Notes
 Thank you for considering Capital One Auto Finance. If you are pre-qualified, click ‘Continue’ to log in to your account. 
Offer Conditions
 Auto Navigator terms expire 30 days from the date your application is received. Capital One Auto Finance provides financing for new and used cars, light trucks, minivans, or SUVs at participating dealerships. The vehicles must be a 2009 model year or newer and have fewer than 120,000 miles. Personal use only. The minimum Amount Financed is $4,000. Your maximum Amount Financed may be based on income, key credit characteristics, the vehicle you are purchasing, the details of the financing deal, and/or the specific dealership from which you purchase the vehicle.
Offer Description
 If pre-qualified, all you have to do is log in to get started. While you search our robust local dealership inventory, you’ll see your personalized rate and monthly payment for each car. Then, adjust your financing terms on the vehicle you want, and take your Offer Summary with you to the dealership. 

What they're saying

Ratings & Reviews
4062 Reviews
  • Interest Rates
    Average
  • Fees & Closing Costs
    Average
  • Responsiveness
    Good
  • Customer Service
    Average

Review Breakdown

Terrible Clarity

I reset my due date for my auto loan but that does not update my pay date. There is no good reason why any person would want to update their due date and not update their payment date.
Payment still went through on old date even though every indication to me was that my due date AND payment date were changed. There is no need to be so convoluted unless you're TRYING to screw people over.
I still had the money to pay but now I don't have what I need for the rest of the month. AWFUL. USER. EXPERIENCE.

Brandy from ARLINGTON, TX

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Best Experience!!

Decided it was time to start looking for another vehicle, but I dreaded the whole car buying process of being at a dealership all day. I decided to try Capital One Auto and filled out the online pre-qualification and was pre-qualified for 35k. I submitted my employment verification and 2 days later, I was notified that I was pre-approved. I was given a list of dealers in my area that accepted Capital One Auto Loans. Printed my pre-approval letter, went to the dealership and found the vehicle I wanted. I filled out the dealer credit application and gave them my pre-approval to reference and asked that it only be submitted to Capital One to void multiple hard pulls on my credit. They gladly agreed and within 20 mins they came back and said that my pre-approval was approved. Agreed on a down payment, Terms and payment amount. The longest time spent after that was waiting for the sales manager to close the deal. Once I closed the deal, the manager stated that I made it easy on them already having my financing in place. I've had the vehicle for 1 week now and just received my Capital One Auto Welcome email that my account was now available to log in and setup my account. Overall this was the most painless car buying experience I've ever had. Definitely recommend!!!

Jamie from MURFREESBORO, TN

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Time waster

Apparently if you own a business and provide business bank statements to prove income you dont qualify. Lol
If you get pre qualified you still have to go to a dealer and get qualified through them. Time waster

Hillary from Ramona, CA

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan or Auto Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

It was a great experience

One Main was the best loan experience I've ever had, It would be very easy for me to refer someone to One Main

Johnnie from HOUSTON, TX

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

It was a satisfactory experience.

The initial process was satisfying, as I quickly received a pre approval notice. Unfortunately, the approval letter was unclear regarding a purchasing amount to be financed. Since I had received other notifications from other lenders I used their financing amounts as a guideline. The only other distraction was the need to send supporting documents more than one time. Given these small intrusions, Capital One handling was satisfactory.

Della from BAKERSFIELD, CA

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

They Lie!

My car was hit by someone else and I had to take it to a shop. Other company mailed a check to be endorsed by both myself and Capital One. Capital One has been useless in answering questions and helping get this process over and done with. Nothing of what they said would happen, has happened the time frame I was originally told. If I had options, I would no longer be with Capital One.

sarah from FORT WORTH, TX

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
2 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
2 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

COMPLETE WASTE of TIME!!!

My credit is excellent and I was rate shopping. Capital One sent me an email stating I was pre-approved, but I had to call. I called and they again advised me I was pre-approved, but for some reason they couldn't send an SMS to my number and I had to speak with a different department. I got disconnected and had to call again. The next call I spoke with the verification department and was sent a link to their Auto Navigator. The vehicle I had my eye on was there, but no rates were available. They needed me to send proof of residence, which I did. They initially rejected my proof of residence and I had to take time to call again. They approved that, but the rates still weren't available. I read other reviews that stated even if rates were available, it makes no difference. When you go into the dealership, you still have to fill out a credit application and the rates will most likely be different than what Auto Navigator shows... I recommend cutting the B-S and just going to the dealership from the jump, which I did and got an excellent rate.

Nunya from MORENO VALLEY, CA

Reviewed in June 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

EXCELLENT!!!

I was amazed at how convenient the entire process was. From pre-approval to actually signing the contract it couldn't have been easier. Now that my loan has been processed I've been able to handle auto payments through the app without any problems at all. I rate this experience as 5 out of 5 stars and would recommend it to anyone looking for easy auto financing!!!

Tony from Hugo, OK

Reviewed in April 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan or Auto Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Capital one is the best!!

Was in a rush to purchase a vehicle. Capital One rushed my process and got me approved with in a few hours! Will always be a loyal Capital One customer! Super fast amd easy. Thanks CAP ONE!

Mike from GRANADA HILLS, CA

Reviewed in March 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

The biggest load of BS ever

First, I have been at my job over 10 years. My credit scores are all close to 800. My finances are secure.
Their auto navigator declined me. They said they couldn't discuss it with me, but they would send me a letter.
Their letter said there was an alert on a credit report and they tried to contact me about it.
First, there is no alert. I checked.
Second, there was no call or anything else from them.
Third, their auto navigator people refuse to discuss it.
Sounds like a no-win situation.
By comparison, I got financing with a great rate within a few minutes from another lender.
Won't do business with them again.

glenn from INDEPENDENCE, MO

Reviewed in March 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?
×

Thank you for sharing your experience

Here are a few tips for writing a top-notch review for a company in our marketplace:

Do
Don't