4.6 of 5stars469 Reviews

Carvana

  • Recommended Lender
    Recommended 93%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

At Carvana, we sell cars, but we’re not car salespeople. We saw a huge problem with how painful it can be to buy a car the traditional way.To fix that, Carvana provides a seamless online car buying experience from A-to-Z. From acquiring, inspecting and certifying high quality pre-owned vehicles, to providing 360 high-resolution photography inside and outside of the vehicle, to providing customers with the option to pick up their purchases from one of our state-of-the-art Car Vending Machines (yes, you read that right) or have their cars delivered to their driveway in as little as 24 hours all with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee, we’ve made it our mission to redefine the car buying status quo. Carvana also provides customers with the ability to generate real-time financing and warranty options that are tailor-made to individuals with all manner of credit. With no dealerships or commissioned salespeople, we help save thousands of dollars per car in expenses that we pass on to our customers. Recently named Forbes’ 5th Most Promising Company in the U.S., Carvana offers the excitement and culture of a startup with the capitalization and infrastructure of a much more established business.

What they're saying

Ratings & Reviews
469 Reviews
  • Interest Rates
    Excellent
  • Fees & Closing Costs
    Excellent
  • Responsiveness
    Excellent
  • Customer Service
    Excellent

Review Breakdown

Somebody needs to get with the inspection team ...

Shopping online is awesome, they provide carfax and they detail everything i need to know about the car. I don't have to deal with a salesman, dealership nonsense or sit there for 5 - 6 hours just to buy a car. Once I decided to purchase a car and finance through Carvana the process took me about 20 min (if not less) - And I did it late at night. They called the next day and said I am good to go. Easiest car buying experience I have ever encountered and they deliver it to my driveway. Talk about convenience!
Now here is where my issue comes in - They advertise a 150 point inspection!! 100% confident in the quality and safety of your vehicle!! Well, I get the vehicle out on the road and noticeable shaking and pulsing of the brakes - this doesn't feel right - i like the car I want to keep it. Now I have to take it to the dealership to get it fixed - all 4 rotors are warped - I take 5 hours out of my day (luckily I was able to do so) to get them fixed and of course they would not cover brake pads so i had to pay for those. I could have traded the car back in, but again I wanted to keep it. And then (I gather from transport) I noticed a chip in the windshield, they schedule a mobile visit to have that fixed. Just a little aggravation considering you're telling me I can trust you because you inspected the vehicle thoroughly.
So the car buying process was very pleasant. The online store could be a a little more user friendly, I was having to log back in frequently and reset my searching parameters. The inspection portion definitely needs to be improved - I would love to not have any issues once my car shows up, I expect it to be safe and driveable. - Trust goes a long way.
One last thing - There are very strong air freshener tabs throughout the car - but i'd rather smell that then somebody else (ya feel me?) - However, I did put on my big boy pants and removed the tabs so the smell would dissipate ... and here I am at the end of day 8 and the smell is just about gone.

Tyler from FLORENCE, AZ

Reviewed in October 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Overall Very Please!!!

It was a wonderful experience!! The process was easy, privacy to chose what I want from home, delivery or pick up Awesome!! Look forward to buying my next car from them!!!

Sandra from HOUSTON, TX

Reviewed in October 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

I wanted to love them but had a rough experience

I hate dealerships, and love good online experiences, so I was really excited about Carvana. Unfortunately, working with them wound up being way harder, and taking way longer, than buying at a dealership would.
I chose to finance through my own bank. Coordinating between the two easily added up to a few hours of phone and hold time.
Carvana then crashed the car I had signed up for when unloading it from the vehicle. While they paid for repairs, their communication throughout the process was pretty lousy (I had to ask for updates, nothing was offered proactively), and what I had been led to believe might take a week or two took over a month to get repaired.
Finally, when I picked up the car, the navigation system was missing an SD card, leaving it and many of the functions on the dashboard inoperable. (Needless to say, this seems way out of line with the rigorous inspections Carvana touts). Even though this was an issue from the moment I saw the car, it was left to me to work with the warranty company to get this repaired-- and they insist that I get the repair through a dealership, so I've now spent a few hours at a real dealership, anyways.
I love the car, and am glad to be in it... but I wish Carvana had lived up to be a better process than they did.

Nathaniel from Charlotte, NC

Reviewed in October 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan or Auto Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Overall, a good experience with some opportunities for improvement

Much easier than buying a vehicle from a brick & mortar dealer, but there were some glitches.
1) I was unable to upload my Driver's License pictures despite multiple attempts. I tried again the next day and they uploaded on the first try.
2) I received several voice mails indicating that I should call my Customer Advocate. I was on hold for 10 minutes the first time before giving up. I tried a few days later and waited another 10 minutes before speaking to my Advocate - who needed exactly nothing. Forcing me (or leading me to believe it's important) to talk to someone is precisely what the Carvana purchasing model tries to avoid, but they just couldn't help themselves.
4) The vehicle wasn't particularly clean when it arrived. To make it worse, a very stinky product was used to clean the interior and hasn't dispersed after 10 days. It's literally eye watering.
5) The brake rotors are warped and need to be replaced. I didn't notice it on the test drive because I was driving very gently. Once the brakes get warm, they vibrate violently. It's a very common problem with this model.

Mark from MILLERSVILLE, MD

Reviewed in October 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Absolutely the best car buying experience

Pick your car.. pick your payments.. pick up your car.. Yes it’s that simple I love my BMW!! And the Car vending machine is really cool!!

Leondra from KANKAKEE, IL

Reviewed in October 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

What an AMAZING experience!

The entire process was easy, seamless, professional and blew my expectations away! I will refer Carvana to everyone I know and can't wait to purchase another vehicle with Carvana!

Glenn from BRISTOL, CT

Reviewed in October 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

It was an easy and pleasant experience

This car buying process could not have been an easier! They were completely upfront about everything in the process. They called me ahead of time to let me know that the truck need slight mechanical work but they already had the mobile mechanic there working on it. We explained that we were on a very tight schedule because we had a wedding to go to that afternoon and they still managed to get everything done. No back and forth about financing, warranty, or negotations. Just straight forward car buying. We will be using Cavana again.

Kyle from NAVARRE, FL

Reviewed in October 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

It was a great experience

The car buying process has always been frustrating for me. Carvana simplified the process with no headaches or countless hours negotiating. I will Never buy a car from a dealership.

John from NEW ROCHELLE, NY

Reviewed in September 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Easily the best experience I've ever had buying a car

I actually ended up buying two cars. I purchased a Honda Accord but then changed my mind during the 7-day trial period and ended up purchasing a Honda CR-V instead. There was nothing wrong with the Accord; I just wanted a different car. Both purchases were simple and pain free. The first car was delivered to my home, which was fantastic, and the second car was picked up at the Carvana vending machine. My 10-year-old son was fascinated by the vending machine and the person working there treated him like royalty. With my second purchase, I was due a refund check, which arrived in my mailbox very quickly. We will definitely come back again!

Kevin from CHANDLER, AZ

Reviewed in September 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great car buying experience

The whole process was so easy, we could hardly believe it. It also gave us so many more car options than going to a local car lot. We would definitely purchase this way again!

Kerri from PARKERSBURG, WV

Reviewed in September 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?