4.2 of 5stars315 Reviews

LightStream

  • Recommended Lender
    Recommended 72%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

LightStream is the nation’s premier online consumer lender, and a division of SunTrust Bank. We offer low-interest, fixed-rate loans of $5,000- $100,000 to people with good credit, and a refreshingly simple online loan process. No fees.

What they're saying

Ratings & Reviews
315 Reviews
  • Interest Rates
    Good
  • Fees & Closing Costs
    Good
  • Responsiveness
    Good
  • Customer Service
    Good

Review Breakdown

Decent experience

Although the loan process went pretty smoothly and without any issues, the rates are a bit high, considering my credit score, but less than most others.

Art from ARLINGTON, TX

Reviewed in October 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Fast, easy, convenient.

Started process on a Friday night had money in my account Tuesday am. Soo simple and easy. Will definitely use again.

Tim from MINIER, IL

Reviewed in September 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Quick and easy

Loan application was quick and easy to do online- had my loan approval in just a couple of hours - full amo3of my loan was deposited the dau I set it to be deposited

Dave from SACRAMENTO, CA

Reviewed in September 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

The Best Auto & Personal Loan Company Ever

I'm not going to lie, I was skeptical with all the positive reviews and had a mixed feeling when I read reviews from credit karma and on other sites. Most people got approved with great rates and how simple the process was. On the other hand, there are others that have high credit scores (even above 800 ) and still got rejected. My credit score was around 760. I have one personal loan (not with lightstream), student loans, and two auto least that one was belong to me and another was I stand as a co-signer for my ex wife (was my wife at that time).
1:I had applied for unsecured loan 4 days before, on the weekend. Monday morning came along, I got a call from lightstream verifying my indentify and making sure I was the one applying for the loan etc. 1-2 hours past by and i got an email from lightstream wanted me to log into my account to submit some documents. I logged into my account and was instructed to submitted my Driver License, which I did. within minutes, I got an email said that I was apporved for a $10,000 Personal unsecured loan, with the purpose for consolidating my debts/credit cards. I went back in my account, sign the online form, filled out the account # and routing # for loan to be ACH, and then i selected the pay date I want it to be withdraw from my acount and when I want the money to arrive in my account. I woke up the next day (8:00AM) and the money was already in my account - Amazingggg speed !.
2: 3 Days after I got my first 10K unescured loan with Loanstream, I had a called from my dealership (lexus ) asking me if I want to trade in my car since my lease was ending very soon or would I like to buy out the lease and keep the car. I proceed with the quote my Lexus dealer for my 2016 Lexus IS 200T and was presented with a buyout price. As soon as i got that quote, the only place I was thinking about applying with was Lightstream. Based on how simple and easy it was to applied for my first loan, I took a shot with theam again and applied for a Auto lease buy out, and listed the amount $27,600 I need for my car. I applied yesterday night (after 8:00PM ) and woke up in the morning around 8:00AM. I had a call from lightstream shortly after, asking me some basic questions like did I applied for the loan etc. and wasked if I had two auto lease loans with Toyota because it was showing in my record. I told the nice young lady that was so caring and nice that one of the lease was from my ex-wife that I stand as a co-signer for her and the other lease was for my car, which i'm applying to have the Auto least buy out. We closed our conversation shortly after and was promoted to waited for the approval via email. About 9:30AM, I got an email asking me to logged into my account to provides some documents. Once again, I logged back in, submitted my paycheck & my bank statement (since I had put in the loan that I had more than $25K available). Once all the documents are submitted (around 12:05PM), I got the approved email around 2:05PM and proceed with my fundind process (entered your account & routing number The day you wanted to be funded (i picked the next day (you can chooose any dates on the calendar that is marked open) the date you want the monthly payment to take from your bank account your E-Signature and submit. Im pretty sure tomorrow morning the money will be in my bank and I'll take that money to buy out my lease.
In summary, My credit score wasn't the top tier nor was my credit report. I've been shopping around from the past to present (banks, credit unions, upstart, propser etc) and let me tell you, most of them will either denied you, ask you to provide them with tons of documents and then slap you with a high APR on top of that. In contrast, with lightstream, the process of applying for the loan was so simple that you dont need to leave your home and can even apply for it with your smart phone, tablet, computer etc... The best part I love about lighstream is the elimination of all those uncessary calls from the lenders that just make the process slower and wasting time. From the start to the end, the only time you'll need to be in touch with another human is the verification process (to make sure that you're the one applying for the loan. Up until now, i'm not sure what could have caused other people to be denied with their applications even though some claimed to have a credit score well over 800. If I could take a wild guest, maybe I have a little bit of everything. Credit cards (22% Credit Ultilzation), 1 personal loan for $6K that i'm still paying, and a decent paying job ($96K/Year-might not be the one factor that give it a green light), and liquidated assets ($28K in my bank account). I I had recommeded my family and even co-workers to Lightstream and once again , thank you lightstream for making the lending process easy and painless.

Kenny from LONG BEACH, CA

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

It was an easy, good experience

The entire process was easy, we had a phone call verification of info and the customer service professionals were helpful and efficient.

Cc from WHITE RIVER JUNCTION, VT

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

The Process was very Simple

Our loan experience was simple and quick. They got our loan to us in two days.we are very happy and would Recommend them to anyone who wants to get a loan.

Raymond from LOCKPORT, NY

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Fast and easy

Second time I have used LightStream. The process is fast, easy, and they have great rates. They are the only personal lender to use.

Benjamin from INDIANAPOLIS, IN

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Quick & Easy

Will definitely work with them again. The process was quick and easy. Applied and had my money in my account the next business day!

AM from CHARLOTTE, NC

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Quick and easy experience. Definitely recommended.

I could not be happier with LightStream. I was extremely happy with my low interest rate. They let you know up front that approval of funds and lower interest rates are subject to a high credit score and enrolling in auto payment. I filed online and the entire process, from submittal to underwriting, took less than 24 hours, and the money was deposited in my bank in less than three days. I got to choose a delivery date and I chose a later date to avoid fees by my banking establishment. Other loan service providers were giving me approval interest rates at TRIPLE what I got from LightStream. Will definitely use their services again if the need arises.

Timothy from SPOKANE, WA

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Simple and Easy

I used lightstream for a car loan. This was the easiest process I have ever gone through buying a car! You basically are a cash buyer which means no tons of paperwork to fill out at the dealer! You are in and out! I highly recommend them and definitely will come back for my loan needs.

Michael from VIENNA, VA

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Auto Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?