NMLS# 685842

4.8 of 5stars109 Reviews

Angel Oak Home Loans LLC

  • Recommended Lender
    Recommended 95%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

Angel Oak Home Loans emerged as a well-managed and well capitalized mortgage banking firm that embraced the entrepreneurial spirit and service driven focus widely absent in the mortgage business.


 
Our lending philosophy is founded upon providing a tenet of mortgage products to include Conforming, FHA, VA, Jumbo and innovative portfolio loan programs, while consistently delivering an exceptional client experience, for both our borrowers and referral partners. In fact, 98% of our clients are likely to recommend Angel Oak to a friend or colleague, according to our recent post-closing surveys. A feat rarely accomplished in the industry.

What they're saying

Ratings & Reviews
109 Reviews
  • Interest Rates
    Excellent
  • Fees & Closing Costs
    Excellent
  • Responsiveness
    Excellent
  • Customer Service
    Excellent

Review Breakdown

  • 5 Star
    (102)
  • 4 Star
    (1)
  • 3 Star
    (0)
  • 2 Star
    (0)
  • 1 Star
    (6)

Very patient and understanding

Gregory was great to work with,as a older self employed individual our mortgage process was more complicated than I expected and didn't always understand what I thought was a lot of unnecessary requests,however Gregory was very patient about explaining the process and why we had to do many of the things we did. Great guy and went the extra mile,would highly recommended him as the guy you want working with you on your mortgage needs.

patrick from Roanoke, IL

Reviewed in October 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Run Around for 6 weeks/No approval

Worked with this company on the premise that they “help” self-employed people: Stuart Landman was willing to tell us anything and everything to string the process along: One lie after another. “We can give you a closing date but can’t approve your loan without a $650 appraisal” “We need a marriage certificate” “We need consumer explanations for every debt you’ve ever had” We had a ratified contract on our dream home: Builder finally got fed up and said we need a loan approval by 5 pm today or were accepting another contract. Stuart’s response....”That’s Not going to happen!” Do yourself a favor and don’t waste your time with Angel Oak Home Loans: They are inconsistent, unreliable and downright dishonest. They did absolutely nothing for us and at the end of the day.....No house! No loan Approval” and we’re out of $650

Kay from MIDLOTHIAN, VA

Reviewed in September 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
2 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
2 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

The WORST Mortgage Lenders Ever

Angel Oaks has exhibited the worst customer service in closing a home loan for my family. I have had to change my close date four times due to the utter incompetence of the lenders/underwriters. They were still verifying employment the day before our close date! Instead of requesting all of the needed information at one time, they have wasted three weeks piecing together requests. A 30 day loan has not taken 49 days and counting! We even reached to the Executive board within the company and was only met with false promises and lies. I will never use this company again and would never refer them to family, friends or strangers.

Sylvester from ACWORTH, GA

Reviewed in September 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Angel Oak ruined our sale

Angel Oak cost us the sale of our home. They couldn't get their work done on time, and would delay closing over and over again. They just needed 24 more hours, then 48 hours, then "at the very latest we'll close on X". It was just lies and excuses all along the way pointing fingers back at the buyer. After almost three weeks of broken promises and no closing, the buyer decided he'd rather surrender the earnest money than have Angel Oak (and specifically their agent Gary in San Antonio) make one cent off him, due to their incompetence and unprofessionalism. Now my family gets to pay more for taxes, HOA fees, maintenance, etc. while we start back at square 1. I'd give them 0 stars if I could.

Chris from SAN ANTONIO, TX

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
2 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
2 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Impressive Experience

Ryan Langford was very knowledgeable and responsive. We went through several programs and Pricing options and they delivered. Thanks Ryan

Lou from AUSTIN, TX

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Re:poor service

Do yourself a favor stay away from this company!!! Very poor service please read Yelp reviews !!! Very dishonest

Robert from WILMINGTON, NC

Reviewed in May 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great Experience

We started working in March to get things in place to qualify for a mortgage. Our Loan Officer, Dale Corley devised a personalized strategy to get our scores where they needed to be. We are so very grateful for his expertise in the field and are happy to say that we are now living in our dream home!

Mark from Duluth, GA

Reviewed in May 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Lender that actually cares!

Great rate and customer service. Responsive and what was discussed in the beginning was the result at the end. More importantly, Greg is a mortgage guy who actually cares about his client. He takes the time to get to know you and understands what is most important to you. Thank you Greg!

Mark from Seaside Heights, NJ

Reviewed in May 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

AOHL & Dale Corley - Service & Responsiveness

Great accommodation from AOHL to a complex loan. Worked great with Loan officer and closed onetime without issues.
Would recommend AOHL again.

Cesar Ivan from Tomball, TX

Reviewed in April 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Angel Oak Homes made it happen

My husband and I had an amazing experience with Angel Oak. It might sound quirky but the moment Ryan Lanford and I spoke I knew he was my guy. We dealt with all the paperwork and countless phone calls with humor. Ryan made such an arduous and time consuming task as pleasant as it could be. He was a great cheerleader and guided us through every step. He was always available and took his time to explain things we were unclear about. I would recommend Ryan and the Angel Oaks team to anyone and everyone. We live in our magical dream home and could not be happier.

SarahJane from WINTER GARDEN, FL

Reviewed in February 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Loan officer directory

×

Thank you for sharing your experience

Here are a few tips for writing a top-notch review for a company in our marketplace:

Do
Don't