NMLS# 330511

4.5 of 5 98 Reviews

Better.com

  • Recommended 87%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

Better Mortgage is a direct lender dedicated to providing a fast, transparent digital mortgage experience backed by superior customer support. From our offices in New York City, we're using technology to change the way people finance their homes, for the better. With Better Mortgage, you can apply for a pre-approval online, 24/7 without ever paying loan officer commission. With Better Mortgage, you're in control. Your entire application is on one platform and help is only a click away.

What they're saying

Ratings & Reviews
98 Reviews
  • Excellent
  • Excellent
  • Excellent
  • Excellent

Review Breakdown

  • 5 Star
    (82)
  • 4 Star
    (3)
  • 3 Star
    (1)
  • 2 Star
    (3)
  • 1 Star
    (9)

Easy to and fast

Very pleasant and not time consuming staff was very courteous and friendly no wasting my time with stupid questions

John from HANFORD, CA

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Started out ok but then...

At the start I was extremely happy with my experience. I sat down one night to research refinancing and came across better mortgage. I filled out the application and immediately had people emailing me and contacting me about what I needed to do to complete my application. I did so and even paid the $550 appraisal fee. Immediately after that my husband decided that he did not want to go forward. I contacted them and told them to please withdraw my application and refund my appraisal fee. This all happened within a matter of an hour. Once I sent the email about withdrawing my application that’s when the problem started. I could not get anybody to email me back, call me back, or answer me in anyway. It took three days for anyone to email me back. Then another couple of days to get my appraisal fee back in which they only refunded 500 of the 550. Now I cannot get anybody to communicate me as to why I’m only getting 500 back. The bottom line is there are super on top of things when they want your business, but when you arent useful to them anymore I guess they don’t care about you . Beware...

Hi, I’m sorry you aren’t pleased with your Better experience. We value all feedback and because I cannot speak publicly about the specifics of your situation, a member of our support team will be contacting you directly. Sincerely, the Better.com Team

Rebecca from ORLAND PARK, IL

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

A great experience and very honest!

Jacob Ragusa was super helpful and also very patient with me. I threw a few offers at him and he not only matched but bettered the offer! For that, I would highly recommend Jacob and of course Better.com as they really are a non-commissioned business that care about their customers.

Ru from LEHIGH ACRES, FL

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Be careful or your application can cost you $550

Applied for a refinance online. Credit score well above 740. During the application process I answered a question saying I did not have the documentation on me but could upload later. Better charged me $550 for an appraisal during the process and because I did not upload the documents at the time I submitted the application, even though I detailed the situation in the notes field provided, they told me no loan programs were available. I'm ok with this but now not only will my Mortgage Expert, Zoey Cigar-Hodge not respond, but Better customer support will not respond either. I believe I am out $550 for giving Better a chance.

Hello. I’m sorry you aren’t pleased with your Better experience. We hope to make every customers’ mortgage process easy. Because I cannot speak publicly about the specifics of your situation, a member of our support team will be contacting you directly. Sincerely, the Better.com Team

Paul from Hollywood, FL

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

BEST LENDER EXPERIENCE I'VE HAD!

Elijah was amazing! He was knowledgeable, professional, responsive, and I really felt like he went above and beyond when trying to work with me! I would HIGHLY recommend Better.com!
Val

Valorie from GREELEY, CO

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Need a mortgage or refinancing, Better.com provides outstanding service and exceptional pricing

Refinancing with an online company, my first gut reaction was skepticism. However, to my complete surprise I have never experienced more transparency, expert advice or better pricing than dealing with Better.com. Having shopped around to several banks and mortgage companies, Better.com performed "better" (significantly better) than all other firms. From professionalism to transparency to friendly advice to best price, we experienced it all with Better.com. This is the company I'll be recommending to my children when they are ready to shop for a mortgage.

Kevin from PIPERSVILLE, PA

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Poor experience

The process with Better.com started with high hopes and lots of action. I found them through Nerd Wallet and decided to go ahead and apply to see what interest rate I would get. The interest rate was pretty good, so I decided to start the process. The problem with their process is that they are highly disorganized and requested the same documentation repeatedly. They also don’t have a good notification system, so when you have a new task to complete, you don’t know which slows the process. If you own your own business, they make you jump through impossible hoops. An example is getting a letter from a CPA to prove you can take funds from your business account without hurting business. CPAs do not offer any such letter because that puts them at risk in case you default on loan. Anyways, in the end they were taking too long so I contacted another lender as was able to close in 3 weeks. I wouldn’t waste time with them and just start with someone else so the process moves even if it is slightly slower.

Jenna from HOUSTON, TX

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Elijah has been great!!

Elijah has been super helpful and on point. He explain the process and answered all my questions. This has been the easiest mortgage loan I have ever applied for and super excited to close next week. This loan will save me $380 per month and that is big!

Juan from ANAHEIM, CA

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Super easy to make a great dealal

The entire process was done with complete transparentcy. As a woman I appreciated not being treat as though I did not understand. Elijah Hi was very friendly. I would definitely do business with him again. His number is now a contact for the future. Best deal I could find and negotiate. He worked with and for me.

Amber from BRENTWOOD, CA

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Fast, easy and cheap!

Better.com provided the best rates and lowest closing costs than some other competitors. I would recommend them to anyone.

Justin from PHOENIX, AZ

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Loan officer directory