NMLS# 330511

4.5 of 5stars132 Reviews

Better.com

  • Recommended Lender
    Recommended 88%

Lender Summary

Better Mortgage is a direct lender dedicated to providing a fast, transparent digital mortgage experience backed by superior customer support. From our offices in New York City, we're using technology to change the way people finance their homes, for the better. With Better Mortgage, you can apply for a pre-approval online, 24/7 without ever paying loan officer commission. With Better Mortgage, you're in control. Your entire application is on one platform and help is only a click away.

What they're saying

Ratings & Reviews
132 Reviews
  • Interest Rates
    Excellent
  • Fees & Closing Costs
    Excellent
  • Responsiveness
    Excellent
  • Customer Service
    Excellent

Review Breakdown

Fantastic Experience

This was my first refi. I reached out to over a dozen different lenders. In short, I gave bet***.com the opportunity to beat a competitior and they stuck by their $1,000 best rate guarentee. Conor O'Riley was my contact. I had many questions and needed explaining on the Loan Estimate they sent and what I locked in. I was skeptical because the deal ended up being so good I was cautious of being taken advantage of or having come up on the back end. Not the case. Conor took extra time, helped walk me through all my quesitons and best of all was responsive to emails and phone calls! If you are looking for fantastic customer service and in my experience, an unbeatable rate, make sure bet***.com is in the list of those you are getting quotes from. If you have the option, ask to work with Conor. This is one 5 star rating that is well deserved. Thanks Conor!

David from WOODS CROSS, UT

Reviewed in January 2020

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great experience

Great experience! Easy, clear lines of communication along the way every step. Every person I worked with answered my questions in a timely manner and kept me on pace to complete the loan process without any challenges

Frank from WYCKOFF, NJ

Reviewed in January 2020

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Fantastic experience so far, 4 Stars only because I am early in the process

So far, the experience with Better has been really good. after first expressing interest in refinance, they followed up regularly. not the point of irritation, but just enough. Second their rates were really good. In my case, the other FI i was considered was a credit union, Better's rates were actually better than the credit union. So far their website has been the primary medium of interaction. Easy to use and very instructive. Am at the early stages of the process and so far, so good. Will come back to update this after I complete the whole process. for now it is 4Stars, since it is too early in the process. But if it continues at this rate, I will come back and update it to 5.

Subbu from CHARLOTTE, NC

Reviewed in January 2020

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great experience!

My refinance experience was very good. Every person involved in the process was extremely helpful, courteous, and professional. They were able to close my loan within a few weeks! I highly recommend them!

Maria from OXNARD, CA

Reviewed in January 2020

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

A Skeptic turned Believer.

I never heard of Bet***.com before this. So when I got a promotional email from AMEX, I thought of giving them a try. They gave me better rate than anybody on the market and there were no surprises during the whole process ( believe me, we were waiting for at least one surprise with such low rates). I also checked BBB for their reviews which were mostly good. I think what people need to learn and understand, as I did in my case, is that there will be changes in tax amount or Title insurance or Home owners insurance as process will move forward that will give the impression that you are paying more than what was discussed during the initial Loan estimate but those are things that you have to pay anywhere you go.
The only thing that need to get used to off is that most of the communication happens via website or emails and you need to work with different people during different stages of the process. I found the transition from one person to another happens very smoothly in most cases.
I would and have already recommended Bet***.com to my friends and family. The only advice is that you should shop around first and then get a quote from Bet***.com. That's what I did and it helped me get a better rate.

Usman from KENT, WA

Reviewed in January 2020

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Glad I chose Bet***.com

From start to finish, every Bet***.com expert was friendly and knowledgeable. They were always willing to review each document (multiple times even), clearly explained the process, and easily accessible for questions and updates.
In addition, I loved the visibility of their loan details dashboard. Thanks for being "Better!"

Filesha from ATLANTA, GA

Reviewed in January 2020

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Excellent lender

First of all, I received a promotion email from my Amex card saying that if I close with this lender I will be able to get benefits from my Amex card.
Secondly, they told me that this is an excellent lender with the better price, service and transparency. Extremely fast service. I never seen that in last 20 years. I wish their success. Hope our community will be able to get help from them.

Fazla from PLANO, TX

Reviewed in January 2020

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Best Rates and Transparency By Far!!

I am a real estate investor and am so glad that I have found Better Mortgage. A lot of the real estate industry involves antiquated processes that are very behind on the times which makes Better's online rate-points comparison tool a much needed breath of fresh air and transparency. When another lender countered with a slightly stronger offer, Better quickly responded and beat them out by $1,000 (turns out the marketing is true)!
Therefore, not only has the process been smooth and transparent but I am also certain that I have the best possible terms with the lowest fees. I will 100% be returning to Better Mortgage as my first stop for every purchase & refinance moving forward.

Derek from LEXINGTON PARK, MD

Reviewed in January 2020

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

A quick and professional experience

The process was quick and easy and I spoke to a professional right away regarding initial questions.

Brian from FRESNO, CA

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Good rates and ease of service

Really quick and streamlined process. Good software / easy to work through. Very happy with everyone I talked to so far during refinance experience.

Drew from JOHNSTOWN, CO

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Loan officer directory

×

Thank you for sharing your experience

Here are a few tips for writing a top-notch review for a company in our marketplace:

Do
Don't