NMLS# 132830

4.8 of 5stars12 Reviews

Block Financial Resources

  • Recommended Lender
    Recommended 100%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

At Block Financial Resources (BFR), we operate for the sole purpose of providing low-cost mortgage financing to all qualified clients.  Founded in New York City during the peak of the financial crisis, our commitment to client service ensures a hassle-free and financially satisfying consumer experience. By maintaining a vast network of banking relationships, we have access to the most favorable terms available for each specific loan scenario.  Our network consists of the largest financial institutions, smaller regional banks, portfolio lenders and private lending sources. From Cooperatives to Condominiums, to Single-Family homes, Multi-Family homes, Mixed-Use properties and Commercial properties; we are experts at working with all property types.  Our expansive list of programs includes FHA, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, Jumbo, Commercial, Reverse Mortgage and Home Equity financing.

What they're saying

Ratings & Reviews
12 Reviews
  • Interest Rates
    Excellent
  • Fees & Closing Costs
    Excellent
  • Responsiveness
    Excellent
  • Customer Service
    Excellent

Review Breakdown

  • 5 Star
    (10)
  • 4 Star
    (2)
  • 3 Star
    (0)
  • 2 Star
    (0)
  • 1 Star
    (0)

Quality Customer Service

It was a pleasure working with Mr. David Ostrowsky Of Block Financial Resources.
Mr. Ostrowsky was knowledgable in all phases of the mortgage process. He was particularily vigilant as to the daily interest rates, as a result, we locked in just before the rates started to increase.
Mr. Ostrowski kept us informed at every stage as well.
There were no "surprises" {financially or otherwise } at the closing.
We would highly recommend Block Financial resources for your mortgage needs.

Ron1234 from New York. NY

Reviewed in December 2010

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Committed to a Solid Transaction

I am very pleased to have worked with Block Financial Resources in my recent purchase of a coop in New York. The company's professionals thoroughly understood the process of executing a coop transaction, and were committed to shepherding me through the transaction - not just limited to the financial matters, but also to the administrative matters. And in the end, Block Financial Resources worked to offer me an incredibly low 30-year fixed rate that is well below what I found in the market.

Simeone from New York, NY

Reviewed in November 2010

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Excellent service. Highly recommended.

It is a super pleasant experience working with Sean Bloch in Block Financial for my mortgage. As a first time home buyer, I knew nothing about this complicated process. Sean professionally guided me from the beginning to the end. I am extremely happy for choosing Sean Bloch as my mortgage broker. Let me list some of the positives working with Sean.

1. Sean is very professional. He knows everything about the mortgage market. He helped us get the best rate and lowest closing fees ever. None of the other rates that my friends get lately is better than mine.
2. Best customer service. Sean is always easy to reach, either by phone or via email. Quick responses, always. He is very patient to all my questions, including some super silly ones. :)
3. Sean always treats you as a real person, a friend, not just customer... He always put his customers first...

I am glad that I chose Sean and Block Financial. I would definitely use them again in the future for my mortgage needs, and highly recommend them to anyone.

XYandXC from New York, NY

Reviewed in October 2010

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
3 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
3 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

A Very Helpful Guide and Resource

Like many first time home buyers, I found the buying process frustrating, tedious, and often unclear. It was sometimes hard figuring out which step came next in what seemed like the endless list of things to get done before closing. I brought David Ostrowsky into the process after the contract was signed while I was considering my financing options. I am extremely glad I did.

Working with David Ostrowsky was the best choice I made (other than choosing my apartment which I love!). David had a terrific command of the process in its entirety. Unlike several of the other people involved in the deal (the real estate agents, the lawyers, the building's management, the co-op board, etc.), he did not concern himself with only the small piece of the puzzle that he had direct control over. He was extremely helpful in providing useful, unbiased information (even when it was not in his best interest) that helped navigate each aspect of the process. He never once responded to any of my questions "well, talk to the _____ (broker, lawyer, etc.), that's not what I am responsible for. "

It was also clear that he was hardworking, knowledgable, and interested in getting the best possible rate (which in the end is what really counts, right?), and overall outcome for me. I was working hard to get the deal done before the first time homebuyer tax credit expired, and I can say he was the only person, other than myself, really pushing to get everybody lined up in time. Getting the tax credit was an important objective of mine, but didn't change what David's closing compensation would be. The fact that he worked so hard to get the timeline as I needed it, despite no added benefit to him, showed that he was deeply invested in client satisfaction and maximizing client outcomes. Simply by having him on board, I easily saved myself nearly three times what David earned from the deal. Well worth it.

If this review sounds too effusive (and therefore perhaps not helpful) it's because I really credit David with making the process go according to my highest expectations.

Alejandro from Bronx, New York

Reviewed in July 2010

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great Experience

Working with Sean Bloch of Block Financial Resources was a real pleasure. He made getting a jumbo loan approved seamless. Sean was in constant contact via phone and e-mail, so getting answers to my ever increasing questions was never a problem. I would highly recommend Sean to my friends and family. Thank you Sean.

AWoolsey from Searingtown, NY

Reviewed in June 2010

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

The highest recommendation...

My husband and I had a great experience working with Sean Bloch of Block Financial Resources. Not only was Sean able to get us a very competitive rate on our large loan, but he was extremely accessible and very efficient in helping us get the loan in time to meet our deadlines. Even after a few setbacks with our ability to borrow, and having our lawyer drag his feet, Sean was our best ally, taking the time to explain everything as it was happening. I could not have been happier with the choice, and recommend him highly.

SusanC from Brooklyn, NY

Reviewed in April 2010

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Bloch Financial Resources

I just closed on a co-op in Manhattan and had an excellent experience with Block Financial. it's a tough lending environment but I was very glad to have Sean Bloch working on it. Sean is expert at navigating the difficult and demanding new requirements imposed by lenders. He was always on top of everything and went the extra mile. I would definitely recommend Sean to other borrowers and would work with him again.

NYCRob from New York, NY

Reviewed in March 2010

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Jumbo loan closed within 30 days!

It's not every day you buy a home and borrow money of this amount. The process can be overwhelming and I was very skeptical of using the Internet to find a bank/broker that would actually deliever on its promise/quote.

Well, I am here to say that Sean (Block Financial Resources) delivered on his quote and was able to close my (JUMBO) loan within 30 days! My overall experience was great and I highly recommend Sean (BFR) for your mortgage needs.

Michael from Staten Island, NY

Reviewed in February 2010

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Polite, honest, knowledgeable and there for me

I must have had the most difficult time trying to get a mortgage. Banks out there want every document and detail about your financial life even before considering giving you a loan. Sean was patient and knowledgeable about all the different hurdles that I had to face.
I also got a great rate to boot. I was going to already get a great rate at 4.25% and he gave me a call when the rate was at 4%! Now that is really looking out for the customers best interest.

Louie from New York, NY

Reviewed in February 2010

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Top Notch!

Block Financial provided superb service (answering telephone questions late at night and weekends), top notch expertise, and the patience to discuss and explain mortgage options, with no sales pitches or tactics. The owner, Sean, is friendly, knowledgeable, and committed to helping you get the best deal for your unique situation, with a professional style that is reassuring and down right easy to deal with. Personally, I got a terrific rate, with relatively low fees, and that with a 60 day lock! Could not be happier with the outcome. Highly recommended!

Jake from Westchester, NY

Reviewed in December 2009

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
2 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Loan officer directory

×

Thank you for sharing your experience

Here are a few tips for writing a top-notch review for a company in our marketplace:

Do
Don't