NMLS# 2600

4.2 of 5stars73 Reviews

Carrington Mortgage Services, LLC

  • Recommended Lender
    Recommended 84%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

Carrington Mortgage Services is the retail loan origination division of Carrington Holding Company, LLC. This company services over $66 billion in mortgages and is licensed to help you find and obtain a loan across 42 states in the United States. Carrington Mortgage strives to get their customers the right loan program and terms for their financial situation. Built on the core values of integrity and transparency, Carrington Mortgage provides unparalleled service. If you don’t believe us, check out Carrington Mortgage reviews from other LendingTree customers.

What they're saying

Ratings & Reviews
73 Reviews
  • Interest Rates
    Excellent
  • Fees & Closing Costs
    Excellent
  • Responsiveness
    Excellent
  • Customer Service
    Excellent

Review Breakdown

  • 5 Star
    (55)
  • 4 Star
    (5)
  • 3 Star
    (0)
  • 2 Star
    (0)
  • 1 Star
    (13)

Den of Thieves!

Our mortgage servicing was transferred to Carrington in 2017 after 16 years with Citifinancial. We had some difficulty in the beginning of the transition but I *thought* it was behind us.
Fast forward to August 2019... we shut off autopay because we were in the process of refinancing. Well.. our closing date got delayed... so I went online to pay our monthly mortgage to Carrington... website wouldn’t allow me to schedule the payment because we supposedly owed over $5k in "uncollected interest and fees!" I called customer service to find out what this is all about since the mortgage has ALWAYS been on autopay from the day we closed on our Citifinancial loan.
After being on the phone for over an hour all the customer service rep could tell me is that we had uncollected interest and fees that transferred over with our mortgage... which is a load of baloney bc as I said... the loan has always been on autopay. Never late.. never missed a payment... never modified.
Thankfully I save EVERYTHING... and I was able to pull mortgage statements, bank statements, etc... that clearly show that when the loan transferred... my first couple of payments went into some sort of a black hole (my bank statements show payments to carrington - but their records don’t show the payments being applied).
I’ve forwarded all the documentation to Carrington’s so called research dept. and courtesy copied the NH Banking Dept. under a “qualified request” subject to RESPA and other federal laws and regs.
In the meantime I discovered through poking around on their site.. that they have been applying ALL of our payments to interest only... and that our payoff simply continues to rise. I estimate that they owe us almost $10k.
Sidebar... NONE of my mortgage statements from Carrington over the last two years show ANY amount as being past due or uncollected... nor we have never received any kind of letter or notification from Carrington indicating that we owe uncollected fees and interest. Even our credit report shows that we have never been late and that all our payments have been made on time. However.. our credit report does show that payments didn’t start until November 2017 even though I have documented proof that I made payments in September and October 2017.
So in short.. these jerks have been misapplying payments from the beginning... which in turn has resulted in “uncollected fees and interest” compounding and building in the background... unbeknownst to us bc all of our statements show our monthly autopay with no other info... and we would not have known that anything was amiss if it weren’t for the fact that we were refinancing.
We ended up moving forward with the refi with the payment to Carrington documented as being made “under protest.” The Banking Dept. attorney has advised that it will all get sorted out and that we will get our money back.. but that it would take some time. On September 30th, Carrington issued a letter to us confirming that they had been applying payments at the wrong interest rate and provided an accounting showing that he reapplied payments correctly. Our refund has been sitting in escrow ever since our new lender paid Carrington off under an old payoff quote. I have an attorney who is ready to file suit if they want to keep playing games.
I can’t even believe that this is real life.

Robin from SANBORNVILLE, NH

Reviewed in October 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Horrible experience

Absolutely horrible company. Missed the closing date 3 times. They dont know what they are doing. Ask for last minute documentation.

John from COLUMBUS, OH

Reviewed in September 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Awful customer service

Rude staff, not willing to help through hardships, will hang up on you if they don't want to talk anymore. Worst service of my life!

Hope from CONWAY, SC

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Product knowledge

The Carrington agent helped with understandable answers regarding VA, FHA, and Conventional loans to afford us the ability to make a well informed decision.

Jolene from OGDEN, UT

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

A remarkable customer service experience

We feel comfortable and secured working with them knowing that they will handle and resolve our concern in a timely manner. For every question we ask we get a speedy reply for sure!

Jose from FAIRFIELD, CA

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great experience from Carrington Mortgage Company

Chris Cox helped make every step of the way easier to refinance our home than I thought possible. He answered questions promptly, as well as helped with the required paperwork we needed to submit. Chris Cox is a great asset to Carrington Mortgage Company.

Janice from SAN ANTONIO, TX

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Awesome experience

From my 1st phone call to my last phone call and numerous emails, Jennifer provided OUTSTANDING customer service. My loan had so many bumps and problems along the way (all on my end) and Jennifer worked tirelessly to fix them all. Every time I called (which was probably well over 50 times) she ALWAYS picked up the phone immediately and addressed any and all issues right away. She is very knowledgeable in the field and handled everything with the upmost professionalism. I honestly can not find enough words to describe my experience with Jennifer. If there is an employee of the month award it should, without a doubt, go to Jennifer. Your company is truly blessed to have her as an employee and if it wasnt for her efforts this loan would not of gone through. I was so pleased with Jennifer that I have recommended my daughter, who is in the process of buying a home, to Jennifer. I truly hope that she is recognized for her customer service. She truly deserves it.

Tracey from POMPANO BEACH, FL

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

it was a very good experience working with carrington mortgage

the entire process was very easy it is a great company to work with i would definitely recommend them for service

michael from FORT MYERS, FL

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

I was treated in a businesslike manner.

I was made to feel that my interests were of utmost importance.
I felt at ease in discussing my situation with the Carrington Mortgage company loan officer.
I had a strong feeling of confidence and trust in your employee’s abilities to complete my loan.

Ignacio from SAN DIEGO, CA

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

First rate service from Carrington MS

Chad, Loan Officer at Carrington MS, was very responsive to my questions and he always responded promptly. He took time to understand my loan refinance goals to provide me with the best suited loan product. He also worked diligently to retain my business relationship with Carrington by getting the interest rate on my loan matched to what another lender was offering. Chad consistently kept me abreast of the loan progress and clearly explained all document requests or paperwork which I needed to complete. Chad exhibited a genuine interest in my being able to successfully close on the loan and he was superb throughout the process.

GQ from JAMAICA, NY

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Loan officer directory

×

Thank you for sharing your experience

Here are a few tips for writing a top-notch review for a company in our marketplace:

Do
Don't