NMLS# 472433

4.8 of 5stars211 Reviews

ConsumerDirect Mortgage, A Division of FirstBank

  • Recommended Lender
    Recommended 95%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

At Consumer Direct Mortgage, we know that each customer has specific needs, so we strive to meet those specific needs with a wide array of products, investment tools, mortgages and best of all quality service and individual attention. You are our priority and we know that superior service, delivering what was offered, coupled with the lowest overall cost is the way to keep you as a customer for life.  In a lending environment where everyone is offering the same core products and programs, we know that we have to separate ourselves with an unwavering commitment to services and delivering the lowest overall total cost to close every day.  Our sales and operations team is comprised of veteran Mortgage Professionals that are committed to this philosophy and understand what it takes to get the job done on time and at the agreed upon terms and conditions presented.

What they're saying

Ratings & Reviews
211 Reviews
  • Interest Rates
    Excellent
  • Fees & Closing Costs
    Excellent
  • Responsiveness
    Excellent
  • Customer Service
    Excellent

Review Breakdown

Great experience

We refinanced our home with FirstBank and closed this month. We got the best rate with them, with no points and it closed on time. I got many offers from other banks, but none of them came close to what this bank was able to give us. Overall it was a positive experience. Anthony Hicks was very responsive and great to work with. I highly recommend them.

Eric from Hollis, NH

Reviewed in November 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great Experience

We are very happy with the effort and support Patrick Moore and his team from Consumer Direct provided through the refinancing process. Their knowledge, patience and response time from start to finish was great. They provided a good rate and competitive fees.
We would not hesitate to recommend them or to use them in the future.

Christian from Hainesport, NJ

Reviewed in October 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Overall was a good experience

Consumer direct for Costco members
Their rates and fees for Costco member was great and my loan officer get 5 star. But!... the process was a bit complicated due to too many out sourcing services, otherwise I would give a full set of 5 stars. To make best of this service I would suggest get your own local closing attorney (or escrow) and your own local title company to avoid misunderstanding and confusion which I had to go through

anthony from CARY, NC

Reviewed in October 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great service, but be aware of your loan estimate

I worked with Consumer Direct from FirstBank for my home purchase in New York. Their interest rate was good and fees were low. Application was easy and straight forward, I was given direct contacts throughout the process and everyone was able to assist me in a timely fashion. Closed ahead of time, everything I submitted were reviewed immediately. Overall their service is very satisfactory. Because of some other reasons I wasn't able to close before the interest rate lock expires, so they worked with me to get a 50% discount on the rate lock extension fee, which was nice.
However, Consumer Direct provided an inaccurate loan estimate that was very misleading in my opinion. Loan estimate documents state that I will receive a lender credit of about $1200 towards closing, which was also discussed over the phone. This lender credit was a huge selling point, so I immediately decided to work with them. However, upon closing I was informed by my attorney that the loan estimates are all wrong - The $1200 is the amount of New York mortgage tax (0.25% of loan amount) that a lender is responsible for. The actual lender credit I will receive is zero. At that point it was too late to switch lenders, so I still closed the transaction.
Loan estimate is a very important document, and an error like this is unacceptable. The lender credit was the only reason I chose Consumer Direct. Lender mortgage tax is certainly NOT a lender credit, this is misleading customers.

ConsumerDirectCustomer from FLORAL PARK, NY

Reviewed in September 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
1 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
1 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Recommend to avoid

Very disappointed in my experience with consumer direct mortgage! I was lured in by their agent - Frank White with great rates and initially very quick response time which I was initially impressed with which is why I decided to move forward with this lender vs countless others. After competing a refinance mortgage application, running my credit which was in the 780's I was told that my 1099 income would not be counted and my investment property income would no be sufficient,however, if I can show future employed status income then we may be able to proceed. After providing a copy of a future W-2 income contract for expected earnings higher that required by the loan amount plus my W-2's over the past 2 years the agent I was working with- Frank White, disappeared from the face of the Earth with no responses to my phone calls, emails or texts. Few days later I received a mail notice that my loan request was declined citing reasons that are false, not applicable to my case and never mentioned by agent as points of concern. I find my experience with this lender to be very unprofessional and concerning. It is perfectly ok to decline someone for a mortgage if they don't meet the criteria, but not ok to deceive, provide false information and then disappear!

Kristina from FORT MYERS, FL

Reviewed in June 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
2 People found this helpful
1 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
2 People found this helpful
1 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Lying Bastards

I revised my review because First Bank sold my loan to another bank before I even made my first payment on my new mortgage. I was told by their representative that they don’t sell their loans which was a key reason went with them. I’m very upset about this. You have been warned.

Matthew from Grass Valley, CA

Reviewed in June 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
2 People found this helpful
4 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
2 People found this helpful
4 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

OKrev

Bill was really good to work with. Helpful and responsive to questions.

Karla from Talihina, OK

Reviewed in May 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

OKrefi

The process went smoothly. The people were easy to work with and responsive to questions. We live in a rural area and doing it all online was very helpful.

Karla from Talihina, OK

Reviewed in May 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great job Consumer Direct Mortgage

The process went very smoothly from the initial proposal to the final closing. Charles and Sam did a great job and were very attentive to all my needs, keeping me up to date every step of the way. Entire process only took about 3 weeks. Would definitely recommend Consumer direct Mortgage.

Daniel from Cincinnati, OH

Reviewed in February 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great Lender!

The entire Consumer Direct team that I worked with was on top of it every step of the way! We closed in 21 days though they could only promise 25 from the beginning. Their online system was easy to work with, they replied promptly with answers to my questions and went above and beyond to help us close quickly on our house, all while saving us thousands in costs. Recommended highly!

Logan from Marietta, GA

Reviewed in December 2018

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Loan officer directory

×

Thank you for sharing your experience

Here are a few tips for writing a top-notch review for a company in our marketplace:

Do
Don't