NMLS# 2611

4.5 of 5 994 Reviews

Guaranteed Rate, Inc.

  • Recommended 96%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

Guaranteed Rate is one of the largest retail mortgage lenders in the United States. Headquartered in Chicago, the Company has approximately 210 offices across the U.S. and Washington, D.C., and is licensed in all 50 states. Since its founding in 2000, Guaranteed Rate has helped hundreds of thousands of homeowners with home purchase loans and refinances and funded nearly $19 billion in loans in 2017 alone. The Company has become the Home Purchase Experts® by introducing the world's first Digital Mortgage technology and offering low rate, low fee mortgages through an easy-to-understand process and unparalleled customer service. Guaranteed Rate won an American Business Award for its Digital Mortgage technology in 2016, ranked No. 1 in Scotsman Guide's Top Mortgage Lenders 2016, was chosen as Top Lender 2016 and 2017 by Chicago Agent magazine, made the Chicago Tribune's Top Workplaces list seven of the past eight years, and was named Best Overall Online Lender and Best Lender for FHA Refinance by NerdWallet in 2018.

Rating Breakdown

What consumers are saying

Perfect!

Before I called Rick, everyone told my that mortgage process is tough and requires strong nerves.
Rick and his wonderful staff proved the opposite.
Rick gave the best quote and his estimated closing costs were spot on.
In fact, the actual closing costs were about 1% less than that estimate.
Rick and the staff had a lot of patience for my novice questions and always kind.
I could easily hear their smile over the phone.
I could not wish for a better experience.
I will keep Rick's contact and this will be the first call I will make for my next mortgage

Ronen from CARY, NC

Reviewed in April 2019

  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Brad is OUTSTANDING!

Mike and I want to thank Brad Wolf and the amazing team at Insight Mortgage Corp. for helping us purchase our new home. Brad was amazing start to finish! He was there 100% guiding us thought the process, answering any questions or concerns and making this a memorable experience! I have and will recommend Brad to my family and friends! Thanks million Brad! You are truly amazing and a blessing!

Mak from Camby, IN

Reviewed in March 2019

  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review

Dennis Henderson the best team

It was a pleasure to work with Dennis Henderson and his team. Very responsive and professional. We closed the house in 19 days .All the process was smooth and they assisted us in all the paperwork .Thank you Dennis and Julie

SIMONA from Bellevue, WA

Reviewed in February 2019

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Tom Pessemier is the very best!


I would recommend Guaranteed Rate to any and every person that is looking for an amazing experience in buying a home. Guaranteed Rate made a difference in our lives. After being turned down by another lender, they were able to provide us with excellent customer service to help us close the VA Loan on our Dream Home. This is my fourth experience in the sale or purchase of a home, and Tom made me feel like a person instead of a number. Christina, Brooke, Marisa and Josh made it super easy to provide them the documents they needed to do their job quickly and efficiently. They answered my questions with same day service, which is evident by the fact we CLOSED IN 12 BUSINESS DAYS! Tom was a God-Send, and held my hand (figuratively speaking) through the entire process. Thank you to the entire team at Guaranteed Rate and Ravenswood Title Company, my family is forever grateful we were given the opportunity to work with you. You truly were an answer to our prayers!

Kami from Indianapolis, IN

Reviewed in February 2019

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Literally hung up on me

I stayed on the phone too long, trying to be polite, to tell this person that we had already found another loan that fit our needs. After trying multiple times to get me to answer questions, he sighed and hung up on me. I'm glad I didn't use them.

I rated them average on all but customer service because it did not go beyond the initial call and I can't comment on them.

Rachel from Indianapolis, IN

Reviewed in February 2019

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Lousy agent, poor customer service

We had a pretty awful experience at Guaranteed Rate. Their Agent, Andrew Marquis was lousy. He was not straightforward from the very beginning, was not helpful and failed to deliver in a timely manner. We told him that we did not want points and he arbitrarily added a point (over $2,000) charge to our estimate and didn't even bother telling us about it. We then went thru a few weeks of back and forth emails and phone calls and he kept promising to fix his mistake but never did. Finally, we had to get his manager Shaunt involved to resolve this issue. Andrew then promised us it was fixed. At this point, we already realized he's not the sharpest tool in the shed and emailed his co-worker to confirm only to find out it wasn't. Our lawyer also reported a similar experience of this guy being unresponsive and failing to deliver on time. Overall, dealing with Andrew and having to fix the problems he created was a frustrating experience. We will give credit to his manager, Shaunt who was apologetic when we spoke to him and helped clean up Andrew's mess.

Dave from Malden, MA

Reviewed in January 2019

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review

Lousy agents, poor customer service

We had a pretty awful experience at Guaranteed Rate. Their Agent, Andrew Marquis was lousy. He was not straightforward from the very beginning, was not helpful and failed to deliver in a timely manner. We told him that we did not want points and he arbitrarily added a point (over $2,000) charge to our estimate and didn't even bother telling us about it. We then went thru a few weeks of back and forth emails and phone calls and he kept promising to fix his mistake but never did. Finally, we had to get his manager Shaunt involved to resolve this issue. Andrew then promised us it was fixed. At this point, we already realized he's not the sharpest tool in the shed and emailed his co-worker to confirm only to find out it wasn't. Our lawyer also reported a similar experience of this guy being unresponsive and failing to deliver on time. Overall, dealing with Andrew and having to fix the problems he created was a frustrating experience. We will give credit to his manager, Shaunt who was apologetic when we spoke to him and helped clean up Andrew's mess.

Thank you for bringing this information to our attention, Dave. We are very sorry to hear of your experience with Andrew and Guaranteed Rate, and we would like to speak with you further so we can ensure this does not occur in the future. Please reach out to guaranteed Rate’s Customer Success Department when you’re able.

Dave from Malden, MA

Reviewed in January 2019

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Great Customer Service

Dan was extremely responsive and open to suggestions for the best way to make things happen. He worked hard to have things finished in a timely manner and very flexible. I would highly courage anyone considering Dan for a mortgage to move ahead as he truly understands and appreciates customer service.

Fred from Hopkins, MN

Reviewed in January 2019

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review

Professional, Accurate, Most Competitive Around

Really thorough and easily explained the process. We felt comfortable all along the way and were surprised with how easy it was to purchase a house after everything we had heard from other people. I highly recommend Charlie to everyone I know buying or refinancing.

Leah from Nashua, NH

Reviewed in January 2019

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review

Happy Homeowner

It is a lot to describe about Mr. Tom, Mr. Pierce, Tanya, and all his team members. They are comparable with no other lender/s. Guaranteed Rate really God put me on their way. Before I never heard about Mr Tom or this company.
I really am a believer of God and pray for this company to help me to get my dream house!
I still can not believe Mr. Tom and his team made my dream became true in 30 days! They also helped me to refinance one of my house and then I was told by Mr. Tom they could me to get and buy my dream house. Yes!! today is the day we are closing escrow and will get my house key by Monday!!!
Thank you Mr.Tom and all the team members. My prayers for all of you so you can keep helping family is desperate need to get their dream with a house.
Great job Guaranteed Rate/Mr. Tom and team.
I can't find the correct words to say how thankful me and my family we are. God bless you all.

Marcie from Lancaster, CA

Reviewed in December 2018

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review

Loan officer directory