NMLS# 174457

4.5 of 5stars3331 Reviews

loanDepot, LLC

  • Recommended Lender
    Recommended 90%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

loanDepot is the nation's fifth-largest retail mortgage lender and second-largest nonbank consumer lender. Based in Orange County, California, loanDepot was the first nonbank lender to offer home, personal and home equity loans. In 2017, the company surpassed $110 billion in funding – just seven years after its founding. Committed to developing emerging financial technologies and dynamic product-delivery systems – with excellent customer service – loanDepot has grown from about 60 employees in 2010 to more than 6,000 in seven and a half years. This number includes 1,700+ licensed loan officers who hold 12,000+ licenses. Additionally, the company operates 180+ local loan locations nationwide.

What they're saying

Ratings & Reviews
3331 Reviews
  • Interest Rates
    Excellent
  • Fees & Closing Costs
    Excellent
  • Responsiveness
    Excellent
  • Customer Service
    Excellent

Review Breakdown

Can't even get a quote without a dog and pony show

Did not move forward with these guys. I submitted info on line to try and get quotes for a cash-out refinance. (A despicable process btw, Lending Tree- there's got to be a better way.) I was bombarded with phone calls. LoanDepot was particularly tenacious. I talked to at least 5 different people (they seem to pass your phone number around to a new person every day) and kept being told they would be able to get me a great deal but none of them would put a loan estimate in writing. At one point someone called and said said they were having some kind of 'special promotion' and it was only for a day. When I asked for rates and costs on the phone each person I spoke with did a total shuck and jive and assured me they could get these great numbers (I had a competing written estimate and was trying to see if they would match or beat). Each person also kept saying before they could give me any details they'd have to go talk to their manager. They were all fast talkers and giving me the hard sell but wouldn't put anything meaningful in writing. I felt like I was buying a used car. If they don't work on commission what the heck is with the battering ram sales style? They really wasted a lot of my time when I could have been making some progress with a more professional outfit. I would never use them and would not recommend them at all.

Megan from SAINT PETERSBURG, FL

Reviewed in November 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

GREAT EXPERIENCE

My process was easy, fast, and exciting. Everyone was very helpful and knowledgeable. I would love to use loan depot again.

Rasheed from UPPER DARBY, PA

Reviewed in November 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great Experience

Shawn was great, helped us out tremendously and will highly recommend and do business with again!!!!

Larry from Chino, CA

Reviewed in November 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great experience

All process was quick and easy from the beginning to the end, very professional and helpful and would definitely do it again.!

Carlos from ROOSEVELT, NY

Reviewed in November 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Professional and Efficient

I'm so happy I've choose LoanDepot to purchase my first home! Everything was flawless! Loan officers were very dedicated and knowledgeable. I was well informed on each stage of the process and we were able to close transaction in just 30 days. Highly recommended!

Kosta from SPRING, TX

Reviewed in November 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Delivered as promised

It was great working with John and his team - closed on-time as promised, saving me hundreds per month. Thanks JT!

John from Adamstown, MD

Reviewed in November 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Run Run Run

This place it ridiculous. They want far more paperwork and stuff than an other lender I have ever dealt with. Between Loan Depot and the incompetence at MTH Mortgage you should avoid using them at all. With an 800 credit score you would think it would be a simple process. But their "secure" online portal lost several documents to which they could not tell me where it went. It is a simple process for their system to verify if the upload succeeded or not and notify you accordingly. Their system says the documents uploaded but they can not "find" them which makes me think their system is written on old or bad code. Either way this place is a joke. really all they are trying to do is satisfy the people who they sale the loans to. They will tell you this and that are the "law" some are but most are just their requirements. What should be a simple process with these folks is a nightmare, It is not worth the 4k in closing cost.

Jason from RALEIGH, NC

Reviewed in November 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
1 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Good experience

Very convenient. However, the closing company took far to long to get the funds disbursed. I had to call them and complain ten days after the documents were signed, and then they finally "expecited" the funding.

Roger from HENDERSON, NV

Reviewed in November 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great Job

Hector provided a competitive rate, and was able to fund within 30-60 days. Any obsticle that were presented during the loan proces were easly manageable. I love the life time guarantee where the lender will waive some of the cost when I come back to Refi in the next 5-8 years.
M. Biek** in Gresham Oregon

Mike from Gresham, OR

Reviewed in November 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Best rates around

JT was a pleasure to work with! JT had the best rates/terms of any mortgage broker that I spoke to. I highly recommend giving JT a shot!

Laura from Tracy, CA

Reviewed in November 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Loan officer directory

×

Thank you for sharing your experience

Here are a few tips for writing a top-notch review for a company in our marketplace:

Do
Don't