NMLS# 400039

4.5 of 5stars3136 Reviews

North American Savings Bank

  • Recommended Lender
    Recommended 99%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

Who is NASB? 

North American Savings Bank F.S.B. (NASB) was chartered in Kansas City in 1927. Today, NASB has assets of over $1.2 billion and has closed nearly $9 billion in residential loans since 2008. Nationally, NASB is one of the top 25 VA lenders and one of top 100 mortgage lenders. Our success is based on giving our customers courteous, fast, and professional service, while providing them with highly competitive rates and minimal lender fees. 


NASB began our internet lending operations in 1999; we were one of the first banks to have an online lending presence. Our loan officers, processors, underwriters and staff have years of experience lending in all 50 states, and they can help you determine whether a FHA, VA, or conventional loan best suits your needs. We take care to make sure that you, the customer, are educated and well-informed at every step of the lending process, and our internet lending expertise helps make your mortgage application smooth and efficient. Contact NASB today; we’d be happy to speak with you! 


Equal Housing Lender, Member FDIC. NMLS 400039

What they're saying

Ratings & Reviews
3136 Reviews
  • Interest Rates
    Excellent
  • Fees & Closing Costs
    Excellent
  • Responsiveness
    Excellent
  • Customer Service
    Excellent

Review Breakdown

Great experience - great rate

Prior to shopping for mortgage services, I had not heard about NASB. I chose to go with them because they offered the best rate, and kind of took a leap of faith. The loan officer I worked with was superb, and that helped me see NASB as a dependable and trustworthy lender. They lived up to my high expectations. The system they use for document upload was very good compared to a big bank that was my second option. Ultimately I went with NASB even though the rates were the same, due to the ease of documentation submission and competitive rate.

Andres from BLACKSBURG, VA

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

RC is an excellent professional

I sought my mortgage options through Lending Tree. Of all the loan officers who called me to win my business, RC Malcolm was the most professional officer I interacted with. From the moment he reached out, he was very transparent, direct and consistent, and throughout the process he stayed on top of it, even working with me expediting things to move up the closing date when an issue related to the title came up. He was prompt to return my phone calls every time, and was always courteous. I am very happy with his work and I very highly recommend him.

Andres from Blacksburg, VA

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great Loan Officer and Friend

This was my first purchase on my own after my divorce. I was scared and nervous about everything to do with the process. RC was great when it came to answering all my questions and calming my fears throughout the process. I started a new build, and when I applied, my credit was still recovering from my divorce. RC was able to take all my documentation from the VA, as well as items I had paid off and still get me a great rate.
When it came time to close, RC did everything thorough and quick! I closed with no hitch. Through the whole process RC was available to answer any questions that I had and was quick (I'm talking minutes) to respond to emails.
This experience was the best large purchase experience I have ever had. I came to know RC over the months while the home was being built, and am happy to call him a friend as well. I will definitely be calling RC if I need anything in the future! For a VA loan, I couldn't have asked for a better, more knowledgeable, responsible, and friendly loan officer. THANK YOU!!!

Laura from O Fallon, MO

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Awful

Started a re-fi with this bank over 2 months ago and finally pulled it from them. I've financed over 20 loans in the last 30 yrs on properties I've owned and I have NEVER dealt with a more inept, incompetent underwriting dept. Seeing the reviews here leaves me wondering whether people really know how seamlessly a loan process should work. It's disturbing to me that an underwriting dept at a bank who is in charge of approving loans, etc can't even read or understand the documents requested(i.e. tax returns, deeds, etc) This bank also has very deceptive closing costs/fees. They will lure you in with low fees and then midway through the process, after you've committed and paid for an appraisal, suddenly the fees increase. If you only have one source of income and a very uncomplicated financial situation then maybe this is the bank for you. But, if not, run the other direction from this bank as they are completely incompetent.

David from Eagle, ID

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

A Great Advocate

Steve Larkins is very knowledgeable, personable, friendly, and an advocate for the borrower. If it wasn't for Steve, I wouldn't have known that I was still eligible for a VA loan. He was on top of everything and greatly guided my wife and I through the process. With Steve in our corner, we were able to close our loan within 30 days. I would highly recommend Steve for your financing or refinancing your home.

Edward from Wyoming, MI

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Best organization to do business with

The entire process moved quickly and smoothly. Our thanks to Seth Robby and his interest in us and his ability to explain every detail. The document signing was effortless and all done without waiting for mail delivery.
Thank you NASB

Cheryll from BRADENTON, FL

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Great experience

This was the smoothest closing we have ever experienced in our 50 years of buying and selling properties. All the credit goes to our agent, James “Seth” Robby. He is knowledgeable, patient, courteous and mostly, professional. We could not have had a better agent. Thank you Seth

Cheryll from Bradenton, FL

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Quick, responsive and easy to deal with

Seth was absolutely phenomenal throughout the whole process. He was always available and took time to explain where we were in the process. He got us locked into a good rate before the rates started creeping upwards. Seth is truly an all star and everyone needing a mortgage should use him.

Zivanai from Matthews, NC

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Best Loan Officer I've Ever Worked With

From the very first day I took his call Greg was very friendly and eager to get me the best deal for my situation. I was already working with another lender, but when Greg was able to offer me a loan rate that was 1/2 percent less and at a lower cost, I was in. He stayed in close contact throughout the application and closing process. Exceptional service!

John from Melbourne, FL

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Easy and simple refinance

I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. Everything is delivered and done from the comfort of your home. Closed on-time with a great rate.

Kelly from BELTON, MO

Reviewed in December 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
0 People found this helpful
0 People found this not helpful
Do you want to flag this review?

Certified loan officers from this lender

Loan officer directory

×

Thank you for sharing your experience

Here are a few tips for writing a top-notch review for a company in our marketplace:

Do
Don't