NMLS# 66247

4.7 of 5 707 Reviews

Sebonic Financial

  • Recommended 94%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

Sebonic Financial is a division of Cardinal Financial Company, a full service mortgage banking firm in operation since 1987.  The company is an approved seller/servicer for Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac and Ginnie Mae. Cardinal is also an approved lending institution for the Department of Housing and Urban Development/Federal Housing Administration and the Department of Veteran Affairs/Veterans Administration with FHAs Direct Endorsement and VA Automatic Lender Authority.  Cardinal is an authorized lender for the USDA/Rural Housing Program, the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency and the New Jersey Mortgage Housing Finance Agency.

 

Cardinal is licensed by the Departments of Banking in many states, mainly in the eastern and southeastern United States.  Its retail and wholesale divisions originate first mortgage loans for qualified borrowers.

What they're saying

Ratings & Reviews
707 Reviews
  • Excellent
  • Excellent
  • Excellent
  • Excellent

Review Breakdown

  • 5 Star
    (624)
  • 4 Star
    (35)
  • 3 Star
    (1)
  • 2 Star
    (3)
  • 1 Star
    (43)

It was a good experience regardless of all the obstacles we encountered!

The process was super simple & easy. The team we worked with was great with answering all the questions we had, and reaching out to us. We ran into some issues that caused us to not be able to close on time BUT we all worked together to get it straightened out and were able to close on our first home! If you’re looking for a lender i would recommend Sebonic Financial! Victoria Eklof, & Victoria Pallela were absolutely amazing!

Amanda from ULYSSES, KS

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

TERRIBLE - Don't waste your time!

This has been BY FAR the worst experience I have ever had with financing a home. We have impeccable credit and could have gotten a loan from any company we chose. If I would've known what a headache working with this company was, I would have NEVER wasted my time. The lack of communication and transparency is unprecedented. They didn't bother to contact us with updates, even with our home closing date 24 hours away. Our title company and realtor both agreed this was the worst company they have ever had to work with. Don't waste your time with this company!

Rozaane from MINNEAPOLIS, MN

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Best banking experience I’ve ever had!

This was the best and easiest home buying experience I’ve ever had. Excellent communication on everyone’s part. The process was easy and seamless with uploading documents. I was fortunate enough to get to work with April Johnson Cobb directly for a majority of the process. She should be highly praised and is a huge asset to your company. You could tell she cares not only about the client but the company and her fellow coworkers as well. If I purchase another home I will definitely use Cardinal again.

Brandon from FIELDALE, VA

Reviewed in June 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Sebonic delivered their word and in time


I had a pre-approval from my credit union and signed a contract based on that. When I approached Sebonic, (a Cardnial Financial Company) We had to close our deal within a month. Loan originator Tamara Eastridge was patient and knowledgeable to take questions from a first time home buyer like me. She answered, explained the process and mortgage jargons. I was lucky I called her. On my part I had all the documentations needed in hand and I made sure bank was never waiting for any document or response from my side. Our response time to the bank for any of their queries was few minutes and response time to document requests was maximum of few hours. Also the Loan processor Heidi Ortiz was very helpful and responsive. On top of this goodness, their fees and rates were best in the market when I was shopping for mortgage rates. Though there were few hours of delays on the closing day, we did close on the planned closing date. Thanks to named ladies and others who helped behind the scenes to help us buy our first home. I strongly recommend Sebonic to all my friends and family.

Vikas from MECHANICSBURG, PA

Reviewed in June 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Best Rate; Seamless Process

I had used Sebonic for a refi a few years ago and went to them when rate shopping for a new home. Their rates couldn’t be beat. Don was quick to respond to us and very informative.

Craig from Prosperity, SC

Reviewed in June 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Friendly but poor operations

Staff were friendly and professional during our interactions. But they told me to schedule the three appraisals for the three refinance loans I was applying for. After the home-visit part of the bank appraisals were done -- which you must pay for in advance, Sebonic came back and said that my income was too low to qualify for a loan, based on the way they calculate it, which includes all tax write-offs that decrease your taxable income. They refunded me about half of the cost of the appraisals. But why didn't they verify my income (using their own methods that made it come out way, way less) before having me pay for appraisals. This was an error on their part that cost me money. I wouldn't trust them.

Patrick from WASHINGTON, DC

Reviewed in May 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Best rates and services.

Excellent experience with Cardinal Financial. Randy our loan originator was fantastic, very professional and responsive. The whole process was smooth, efficient, and we were even able to close before the original planned closing date. Highly recommend.

grafusa from ARLINGTON, VA

Reviewed in March 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Equity Loan or Line of Credit
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Terrible Experience

The representative was rude and curt. He was lecturing me on "the problem with how high my outstanding HELOC" was and remarked twice about the high cash out. I was calling to consolidate my balance, the full loan amount would be only 60% of the home value (and only 40% if including net real estate assets which is what I used the HELOC to buy) but he apparently didn't do the calculation to see that this is a low mortgage ratio. I asked him to just give me the rate but he then got rude with me saying he is the top agent in the country, works 7 days a week. Several other institutions provided professional estimates and had no qualms about my HELOC balance. I was surprised to hear his comments. Who needs some judgemental representative who doesn't know about loan/value ratios when there are so many great options out there?

Jess from EDGEWATER, NJ

Reviewed in March 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

First purchase loan

Started a purchase loan with Brandon, and he was able to answer all of my questions easily without pushing too hard. I was a 1st time buyer so not too familiar with the process, but he did his best to make things clear and easy for me.

Michael from Boulder, CO

Reviewed in January 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Loan Officer Review
  • Loan Officer:

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Great experience and Easy Process!

For purchasing my first home, Sebonic/Cardinal Financial was fantastic! The process was flawless, and I had much less paperwork than what friends told me to anticipate. Also they always answered my questions promptly and correctly. The loan was funded, and I'm a happy camper! Thanks for the great experience and rate!

Steven from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Reviewed in January 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Loan officer directory