NMLS# 3122

4.5 of 5 729 Reviews

Veterans First Mortgage

  • Recommended 96%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

Wintrust Mortgage dba Veterans First Mortgage is committed to empowering Veterans, one by one, to live the American Dream of home ownership. Experience a lender who specializes in getting Veterans into solid loans with competitive rates. Our leadership team brings three decades of insight and experience in VA loans, VA refinancing, and other government-backed lending. You can count on dedicated personal service as we walk you through the process, step by step. We are a top-ranked national VA lender, and are proud to have an A+ ranking from the BBB. Check out what other LendingTree customers are saying about Veterans First.

Rating Breakdown

What consumers are saying

Great

Lee was amazing! Made the process very easy.

Wesley from Glassboro, NJ

Reviewed in April 2019

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Appraisal means nothing

Very poor and unprofessional service, not sure how there are so many 5 star reviews, that is not what I experienced. We were quite far into the mortgage process, Veterans First had the appraisal done, the property appraised for the loan amount. Then almost 3 weeks later their underwriter denies the loan, stating" the comparable properties were not close enough". So even though the appraisal they had done passed with flying colors, it meant nothing. The response from the loan officer was "we can't affect the underwriter's decision". There should be no reason it should have taken 3 weeks to inform me. Now I have to begin the process all over again. Unless you have no other options I would strongly recommend using anyone else.

Clay from Tobaccoville, NC

Reviewed in February 2019

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Makes deadlines and thorough

Me and my wife have now worked with Lee Camblin twice and it has been an absolute relief to work with him. He is very straight forward and ensures that the process moves forward smoothly.
He verified and double checked his work and he also is very thorough with double checking others in the process (Such as the insurance company). We're going to be returning to work with him if and when we need to buy another home. I would highly recommend Veterans First and highly suggest working with Lee Camblin.

Jason from Saint George, UT

Reviewed in January 2019

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Above & beyond!

They allowed me to look around and they matched all the offers and even beat them all! Lee Camblin went above and beyond to help me when no one else would. When I hit a wall with my eligibility certificate he found the right people to contact and get it all straightened out. I wouldn’t have this house without him. Thank you for helping me AND my family!!!!

Melissa from Muncie, IN

Reviewed in October 2018

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Why are they confused?

I am not a veteran. I am not purchasing a house that qualifies for FHA. These people did not understand that. They continue to call and ask if I have found a HUD home yet. I have already found my condo. I want to purchase it, not a HUD home. Three to four calls a day from these people is a bit much.

Rebecca from Avondale Estates, GA

Reviewed in May 2018

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Highly satisfied

Celeste Atkins was incredibly insightful. She was able to walk me through the entire process. Always available to answer any questions that I had and was extraordinarily punctual in responding to my queries. I would highly recommend and encourage anyone buying a home to contact her for assistance.

Richard from Napoleon, OH

Reviewed in May 2018

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Good experience

This was my first home buying experience. Lee Camblin walked me through everything from start to finish and answered every question I had.

Brannon from Warner Robins, GA

Reviewed in April 2018

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

GETTING A lOAN??

always HARD TO RECEIVE A HOME LOAN OR TO JUST Refinance FEEL AT TIMES LIKE I AM HAVING TEETH PULLED OVER AND OVER!!
iT SEEM'S TO TAKE FOREVER TO GET QUALIFED AND GET THE FINAL WORD "CLOSED!!" THANK YOU.

SAMUEL from Paducah, KY

Reviewed in April 2018

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Refinance
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Lee Camblin, Veterans First Morgage.

Lee Camblin was my loan officer and did a excellent job from start to finish. My realtor who has been an agent for over 30 years constantly said how on top of everything Lee was. Although Lee’s office was in a different state, everything went smoothly with no issues.

Stephen from Evansville, IN

Reviewed in March 2018

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Awesome and Efficient

Lee Camblin of Veterans First Mortgage is the lender to you go to if you want efficiency. He walks you through the process and stays with you to the end. He has a heart for Veterans and gives clear directives so you understand exactly what you need to do to obtain your new home. Always choose Veterans First Mortgage and ask for Lee Camblin; you will glad you did!

Shelley from Longs, SC

Reviewed in March 2018

  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review