NMLS# 1907

4.9 of 5 442 Reviews

Veterans United Home Loans

  • Recommended 98%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

Veterans United Home Loans is the nation's leading dedicated provider of VA Loans and has helped tens of thousands of military families and veterans purchase the home of their dreams. Our VA mortgage specialists make the home buying process easy and hassle free while securing the best possible loan options available for you. Even better, our experts have streamlined the VA Loan process, ensuring quick and on-time closings. So don't wait, get started with Veterans United today. NMLS 1907.

What they're saying

Ratings & Reviews
442 Reviews
  • Excellent
  • Excellent
  • Excellent
  • Excellent

Review Breakdown

  • 5 Star
    (423)
  • 4 Star
    (10)
  • 3 Star
    (0)
  • 2 Star
    (2)
  • 1 Star
    (7)

Log Cabin❤

The only difficulty we had was the Indiana VA Appraiser was very unmotivated to meet our deadline. The Appraiser was contacted to do our Loan on July 11th (possibly sooner) to meet a July 31st Closing Date. He had NO sense of urgency to meet this date, he was very rude to me when I phoned him to inquire what was his delay, and he did not get his Report in until August 5th !!! We were not able to Close until August 9th. That created extreme stress on many people unnecessarily.
Veterans United was so helpful and so friendly thru out the whole process and the Secure Portal created so that we could Upliaf all our Documents made things so easy and kept us informed the whole time.

Kelley from Middletown, IN

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Poor Experience, Closing fees where approx $1,000 Higher than quoted

1.0 star rating 8/8/2019
I am a 20 Year Real Estate Broker in the state of Kentucky and Shane Martin, Loan Officer, processed a pre-approval for an Army Veteran Family who found Shane online. Buyer was told by Shane there would be no out of pocket cost at closing. We found a Home, had a purchase contract, I contacted Shane before writing the real estate offer to get the dollar $ amount of VA closing costs needed to close the loan. Was told 3% of purchase price would cover the Buyers out of pocket costs. So, we wrote that in the contract for the sellers to pay as instructed.....Then a week before closing the buyer received an updated closing disclosure showing the buyer out of pocket cost was $1,825. We immediately called Shane since there was suppose to be $0 out of pocket cost for the buyer since the sellers were paying the 3%($5,550). Shane responded, "That is what it costs to buy and kept making excuses as to why the cost was increased." Then 3 days before closing a final closing disclosure came out, now the out of pocket cost increased again....to over $2,200. This created an extreme amount of stress to the VA Buyer....Again was told the same thing, "this is what it costs". Come to find out there were fees on the closing disclosure that were incorrect however to close on the house it cost approx $1,000 out of pocket when it was suppose to be $0. Shane Martin did not keep his word to the Veteran Buyer! Very Sad to see in the Real Estate Industry a Veteran being treated this way. From my past experience many local Loan Officer I have worked with in the past would have reduced their fees and kept their word to the buyer, especially one of our Veterans! Advise....Use another Loan Officer than Shane Martin at VA United Home Loans!

Judy from LATONIA, KY

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

This was the best experience ever we are homeowners now!!!!

From start to finish our VU team were outstanding even when we got alittle nervous towards the end Matt and Amy made us feel at ease. Our team handled us in the upmost professional way and answered all our questions. To all my military brothers and sisters looking to buy a home Veterans United is the place you want to start with. It literally took me and my wife just over 4 weeks to close on our dream home and was stress free for the most part (we did stress alittle towards the end but that's natural in home buying) but VU took alot of that stress away. I will recommand Veterans United to any Military person looking to buy. Thank you guys for giving us the American dream of home ownership........ You are Outstanding and i am looking forward to working with you guys in the future.

Derek from RACINE, WI

Reviewed in August 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

You can't beat perfect!

I have never worked with a better group of people tasked with managing a large financial transaction.
If the same attention to detail was applied to my 401K account, there's a good chance I would be able to retire early..
We hit some bumps and hurdles along the way, but all of those bumps and hurdles were created by me and the Veterans United Home Loan Team deftly navigated me to the finish line.
On a scale of 1 to 10 - I would give them a 20 if I could.
Tony Theberge is the consummate professional. He displayed a distinguished level of integrity, capability, knowledge and efficiency. I would be happy to recommend Tony, Jake, and the entire team to anyone looking to purchase a home - and I will, in fact, do exactly that when given the opportunity.
There is simply no one better in the business.
To Tony, Jake, and Brittany - my heartfelt gratitude!

Chris from SUTHERLIN, OR

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Closed with Lender:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Unacceptable experience with loan officer

Weeks away from closing our loan officer emails us questioning our income then realizes he outright assumed our income and tells us we would be denied for a loan. There was an unacceptably long delay in the time it took him to contact our realtor to let her know and very little advice or conversation on resolving his errors. A preapproval letter should have never gone out and it seems as though he did not take the time to thoroughly look over the paperwork we sent over otherwise this would not have been allowed to get to weeks away from closing. Multiple parties were involved and dependent on this deal and a loss in money has occurred because of it.

I am so sorry to hear about the stress this has caused not only you but your family, that is never our intention. We know how important clear communication is during the home buying process and I am truly disappointed to hear that this is not reflective of your experience. We always strive to deliver great service while helping our veterans and service members use their loan benefit. If we fail in that goal, I want to know everything about what happened so that we can review for potential training opportunities or corrective action. I wasn't able to match your publicly available profile information to a loan application or inquiry here, but my team is available to assist you with more information. If you are willing, please reach out to us directly for assistance. –Claire S., Client Advocate

David from BEAVERTON, OR

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Veterans United Rocks!

I’ve never imagined that a mortgage company could be so personal & helpful! They understand all the requirements for processing a VA mortgage & do so most expeditiously and efficiently! Thanks Veterans United, you guys rock!

Raymond from Tifton, GA

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Veterans United Excellent Service

Veterans United walked me through every step of the home buying experience and provided videos and e-mails to help clarify each step of the home-buying process.
My loan officer was readily available and answered all questions day or night!

Veterans United made my first home purchase seamless!

Monica from Utica, MI

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Extremely Grateful

We just purchased our second home using VU. My team led by Darin was outstanding. Both times went smoothly and pretty much stress free, and we closed within a month. My team worked overtime just to make sure we were able to close on time. No question is ever a dumb one, their patience and willingness to help you step by step is immeasurable. When I needed my hand held Darin was there to hold it. They have become family and I cannot thank them enough for all their hard work. I will never use another company if we should have to move again. Thank You Darin, Kayla and VU for putting us in our dream home.
Sincerely Grateful
Jeff and Donna

Donna from Palm Coast, FL

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

The best way to purchase a home!

Veterans United makes the home buying process easy and worry free! The process is streamlined with an online portal that groups everything you need in one location. Super easy to contact for any reason with great feedback on every step.

Jonathan from Manassas, VA

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Awesome

My lending team were always available and very responsive. They made this process very easy.

Teresa from Raleigh, NC

Reviewed in July 2019

WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
  • LendingTree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Home Purchase
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review
WAS THIS REVIEW HELPFUL?
Do you want to flag this review?

Loan officer directory