NMLS# 936133

3.9 of 5 69 Reviews

Upstart Network, Inc

  • Recommended 75%
  • Lender Rating

  • Recommended 75%
View Rates Write a Review

Lender Summary

Founded by ex-Googlers, Upstart looks beyond the FICO score to assess borrowers based on work and education history. Whether you are looking to pay off credit cards, refinance existing debt, or make a large purchase, Upstart can help you get the rate you deserve. Check your rate in minutes without affecting your credit score.

Rating Breakdown

What consumers are saying

Disappointed

Had the same experience of many on here... Approved and qualified for loan all along the way until last second when they changed their minds and said I no longer qualified. Don't offer loans to people if you're not capable of giving them out.

Tabatha from Hilton Head Island, SC

Reviewed in January 2019

  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Humble

They have a excellent customer service. They are very polite and respectful.

Ana P from Calexico, CA

Reviewed in August 2018

  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

don't waste your time

Same as other, was offered 5 different loans on the lending tree sight by upstart. when i went to upstart i was denied. waste of time, plus if they are so strict in their requirements, they shouldn't be associated with lending tree. Very disappointed and misleading.

Melissa from Jackson, NJ

Reviewed in March 2018

  • Lending Tree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Denied after receiving "offer"??

Was "offered" a loan at a decent rate. But when I tried to accept and complete the loan I was denied? Why would Upstart offer a loan on Lending Tree only to deny it on their site?? Now I have another hard inquiry on my credit report and NO LOAN!! For people in the same situation as me, who are trying to improve their credit, trying to get out of debt with a credit card consolidation loan, trying to lower there monthly payments, this is extremely frustrating!! This made my credit rating worse! Lending Tree should stop doing business with Upstart. They're just as bad as Upstart for promoting / directing customers to their site.

Ian from Westfield, NY

Reviewed in March 2018

  • Lending Tree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Don't waste any time.

Was pre-approved on Lending Tree site with multiple offers, but trying to actually apply was not able to get any loan. This is a waste of time and a hard inquire on your credit. Don't waste your time, just try a real local bank or credit union.

Dalton from Whitmore Lake, MI

Reviewed in February 2018

  • Lending Tree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

personal loan

waist of time good credit and got denied so now i have a hard inquire for nothing

rendy from Springfield, MA

Reviewed in January 2018

  • Lending Tree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Liar

I was "approved" for several loans, but then when going through the process they denied me. This is ridiculous.

Amanda from Woodbury Heights, NJ

Reviewed in January 2018

  • Lending Tree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

Upstart is a JOKE!!!

Do not apply for there loan!! Waste of time like other applicants stated.. you will get several loan requests ask you questions that had nothing to do with a Loan, “high school education “!! Really and .. then your DENIED! Stating your credit history, well UPSTART the reason for the loans is to Lower monthly payments to current accounts. So People don’t Fall For BANANA IN THE TAILPIPE BULL!!. I should have listened to the other applicants!!

Carolyn from Laveen, AZ

Reviewed in January 2018

  • Lending Tree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

False Advertising

Like other reviews have said, Lending Tree says I qualify but then when you fill out form and submit you receive a denied message. Mine stated I exceeded credit limits but the whole point of debt consolidation is to consolidate debt and I wanted to close three accounts so I can save money due to rent risen up another $133 dollars a month. I have found no options in helping me change my financial situation.

Robert from Grove City, OH

Reviewed in January 2018

  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review

It is not reliable

Should be banner from LendingTree website cause it does not say right information about the pre qualification for loans.
It is not reliable.

Salyme from North Miami Beach, FL

Reviewed in December 2017

  • Lending Tree Customer:

    Yes
  • Loan Type:

    Personal Loan
  • Review Type:

    Lender Review